Behave is a Play

Do you have the same problem.  Here, I share my experience that may help you.

 

A disobedient child

This is what we are facing, as a mum or dad when dealing with kids nowadays.  Yes, especially you have a smart one (I believe all children are).  Sometimes, you feel  like competing with them in terms of how fast they learn new things, how creative they are and most importantly, they disagree of what you told them to do.  They like arguing and act the opposite.  Where is my baby?  She used to be a cute little one and now turning into a tough little chili!

 

Factors contribute to disobedient

My girl, an 8 year old has with big temper and character, who always give a fuss about things not doing her way.  I noticed the root of this may actually cause by two factors, physical and emotional.

For example, she usually gets very grumpy before and after school when arrived home after a long day.  This is the same as when wake up and after work, we need a little peace right?  When your kid is tired, hungry and sleepy, their mood will be affected as well.  I normally avoid to ask her too much about school matters during those fatal moments.  You normally will get an ugly face from her and spoil your mood.

 

How to bring back my angel

Is there anything to do?  Yes!  The only thing to do is to find something they like and it can be very abstract.  You are the only mum/dad who knows to answer this question.  My girl is the only child in the family and she has a lot of toys, dolls, kitchen, cookery, Lego, etc.  Among them, her all-time favorite, Snowy is her best friend.  She treats it as her baby girl and brings her wherever she goes.  To bed, bus, dinner, lunch or even her trip back to Australia.

Snowy at KFC, Miami, Gold Coast, Australia
Snowy @ KFC, Miami, Gold Coast, Australia

Role play

I used Snowy as a bridge to communicate with her when she is acting naughty.  I will pretend Snowy is doing bad things, like unwilling to eat dinner, not doing her homework or yelling and screaming for no reasons.

My girl will act as a mother or teacher to rectify the bad Snowy.  I found that this works well with my daughter most of the time.  See, she knows she is doing wrong and telling me that what Snowy is doing.   Through the game of role playing, she learnt that what dad doesn’t like and she will learn by heart.  After all, she is just a kid who doesn’t have the same endurance we adult do in emotions handling.

 

Food

If games are not her say, a treat will usually do the job.  One thing to keep in mind is to never bribe them without doing a good thing.  In this instance, I praise her for pointing out Snowy did a bad thing.  As a consequence, she receives a fruit salad while she is doing her homework.  This is doing so far so good strategy.

What are your best strategy to keep your angel happy?  Please share me some thoughts.  Happy Friday to everyone!

 

 

#Behave #disobedient #physical #emotional #angel #SweetSourBitterSpicyBlog

 

One comment

Leave a comment